Big Ten Universities The Big Ten consists mostly of public universities, originally in the midwest, but now from coast to coast. Many of the schools therefore have a name of the form "University of X" or "X State University" - but not every such school belongs to the Big Ten. For the uninitiated, here is an explainer. Seven of the schools have Cream or White as a second color; ten have two colors. And then there's Maryland (see below).

1	Illinois	There is an Illinois State University, but it belongs to the Missouri Valley Conference.
2	Indiana	Indiana State University belongs to the Missouri Valley Conference.
3	lowa	Iowa State University belongs to the Big 12 Conference.
4	Mary land	That's right Maryland has four school colors.
5	Michigan	Yes, there are two schools that both have "Michigan" in their names.
6	Michigan Sta	te Yes, there are two schools that both have "Michigan" in their names.
7	Minnesota	There is a Minnesota State University, with some sports in NCAA Division I, and some in Division II.
8	Nebraska	There is a "Nebraska State College System" consisting of three small schools.
9	Northwester	n It turns out that there is a Northwestern State University, located in Louisiana.

10	Ohio State	Ohio University belongs to the Mid-American Conference
11	Oregon	There is an Oregon State University, in the Pac-12 conference (which, in 2024, is much smaller than its name suggests).
12	Penn State	The University of Pennsylvania belongs to the lvy League.
13	Purdue	There is a Purdue State Bank Building, one block from Purdue University, currently housing a Chase bank branch.
14	Rutgers	Originally called Queen's College, it is now officially "Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey."
15	UCLA	In addition to ten campuses of the Univ. of California, there is Cal State, and Cal Poly, each with multiple campuses.
16	USC	Believe it or not, there is a California Southern University a private, for-profit, university in Chandler, Arizona.
17	Washington	Washington State University belongs to the Pac-12 conference.
18	Wisconsin	Wisconsin has a state capitol and a state fair, but apparently no Wisconsin State University.

That's right, by the way. There are 18 schools in the Big Ten. Go figure!

color source: www.trucolor.net